This Region

Draft for Consultation

Have Your Say

The East Gippsland Catchment Management region is comprised of 2.2 million hectares of land, lakes and coastal waters out to 5.5 kilometres, in the easternmost part of Victoria, Australia.

The region contains a Ramsar listed wetland system (Gippsland Lakes and Lake Tyers), six declared Heritage Rivers, and many national parks and reserves. A large proportion (83%) of the region is public land, stretching from sub-alpine environments to the coast.

East Gippsland covers about 10% of Victoria. It includes most of the East Gippsland Shire and the northern part of the Wellington Shire.

The Authority is one of ten Catchment Management Authorities (CMAs) throughout Victoria established under the Catchment and Land Protection Act 1994 and the Water Act 1988. 

Map of the East Gippsland CMA region
East Gippsland CMA region